How to Write a Love Story

The wonderful woman Sharon wrote about died last night. My love and prayers go out to her family. We will never be the same without her.

Thank you Sharon for such a wonderful post.

Sharon Wray

IMG_1135IMG_2593IMG_2581He wept.

Standing in my kitchen filled with the warmth of baking sugar cookies and the scent of a cinnamon candle, I pressed the phone harder against my ear. Every one of his ragged breaths spears my heart. His wife, my dearest friend, is dying.

And I have no words.

How do you comfort a man losing his wife, his best friend, the one person in this entire world he counted on always to be there, always to love him?

Deep in the hard pit that used to be my stomach I realize you don’t. I can’t.

I finish the call and six young teenagers, some mine and some borrowed, race in from the cold to find the cookies. I hand them out, present in person but not in heart, as his last words swirls around me.

“Why is this so hard?”

My answer was, “I don’t know.” Does anyone…

View original post 1,233 more words

2 thoughts on “How to Write a Love Story

  1. I really wanted this one to have a happy ending. Dang. Love and light to Sharon and her friend’s family.

What's on your mind? Leave your comment here.

