Joyful Noise: Lessons Learned from the Yam Girl

My dear friend Sharon wrote a tribute to our late, mutual friend , Karen below. It’s one year since Karen passed from a horrible disease, but her incredible spirit lingers on thanks to Sharon. Karen, we’ll never forget you!

Kiss and Thrill

On Tuesday, I reposted the eulogy I wrote for my best friend who died last year on March 4. Today I am following up with the story I wrote about how fate intervened and gave me the words I needed to honor Karen. IMG_2069

“Yams? I don’t want yams!” The woman ahead of me yelled at the cashier of my local grocery store. “I want sweet potatoes.” She slammed down a plastic bag and got in the cashier’s pale face. “And I want them now.”

I checked my watch and bit the inside of my mouth until I tasted blood. I was late and my arms hurt from holding two bakery boxes of muffins and a half-gallon of orange juice.

All of the self-checkout lanes were getting their yearly computer upgrades and I was in the “10 items and under” lane which had a short conveyor belt I couldn’t reach yet…

View original post 1,652 more words

What's on your mind? Leave your comment here.

